Hindi Firaaq (2008)

Firaaq is a 2008 Hindi political thriller movie set one month after the 2002 violence in Gujarat, India, and looks at the aftermath in its effects on the lives of everyday people. It claims to be based on “a thousand true stories”. Firaaq means both separation and quest in Arabic. The movie is the directorial debut of actress Nandita Das and features Naseeruddin Shah, Deepti Naval, Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Inaamulhaq, Nassar (actor), Paresh Rawal, Sanjay Suri, Raghubir Yadav, Shahana Goswami, Amruta Subhash, and Tisca Chopra. Composed by Piyush Kanojia and Rajat Dholakia, the lyrics of the songs are penned by Gulzar. Firaaq movie songs are sung by Sukhvinder Singh, Jagjit Singh, Rekha Bhardwaj, Faiz Ahmed Faiz, Mohit Chauhan, and Tulsi Kumar.